vrijdag 14 augustus 2009

Crippled Black Phoenix - 200 Tons Of Bad Luck LP

I was totally unfamiliar with this band but after reading this press release, I'm already wetting my ants. Straight from the label comes the following "After releasing the underground classic “A Love Of Shared Disasters” Crippled Black Phoenix have regrouped and spent the best part of a year recording “200 Tons Of Bad Luck”. Although not strictly a concept recording, the thoughts and moods of founding member Justin Greaves(Electric Wizard / Iron Monkey / Teeth Of Lions Rule the Devine) re-occur throughout and link the songs in a film like way.

Once again the CBP crafted the songs at Geoff Barrow’s (Portishead) State Of Art Studio. The band is made up this time of Joe Volk (Gonga), Dominic Aitchison (Mogwai), Kostas Panagiotou (Pantheist) & Charlotte Nicholls. Joining the band on all live dates will be Joe Allen & John Langley of Saturation Point. The end result will no doubt have folk scrambling for descriptives and in the midst of the relative chaos Crippled Black Phoenix will be oblivious to it all, again giving you 200 tons of music that, if you let yourself have time to be immersed in, you shall be rewarded. Think of these albums like the moment when your life flashes before your eyes just before the inevitable conclusion."

In case you were too lazy to read all that - can't blame you; Crippled Black Phoenix are a project from Justin Greaves from Electric Wizard!, Iron Monkey!, Teeth Of Lions Rule the Devine! and some friends who also play in Mogwai, Pantheist, etc!! Wow!! No pre-orders are up at Atavist yet, but you can however reserve a copy from http://www.cargorecords.co.uk/ I recently ordered the Sunn 0))) / Pansonic 10" over there, and they sure deliver fast!

Geen opmerkingen: